UMass Lowell Pi Mu Epsilon

Pi Mu Epsilon logo

As stated at the Pi Mu Epsilon home page (, Pi Mu Epsilon, Inc (PME), is the Honorary National Mathematics Society. It was founded on May 25, 1914 at Syracuse University and currently has over 300 chapters at colleges and universities throughout the United States. The purpose of PME is the promotion of scholarly activity in mathematics among the students in academic institutions.

The chapter at UMass Lowell (the Massachusetts Delta chapter) was established in 1978. Prof. Virginia Taylor was the faculty advisor for many years. When she retired, the chapter became inactive. Our chapter was reactivated in 2007 by PME Council member Brigitte Servatius, Professor of Mathematical Sciences at Worcester Polytechnic Institute, who inducted eleven new student members.

Damped Pendulum
UMass Lowell Pi Mu Epsilon induction ceremony on January 26, 2007.
Back row from left: Jacob Kushkuley, Jason Percival, Ryan Beaven
Middle row: Mia Parviainen, Ryan Hill, Michael Williams, Tiffany Kot, Joshua Wladkowski, Prof. Brigitte Servatius (WPI), Ryan Masson
Front row: Steve Pennell, Paul Tishue
Inducted but unable to attend: Brendon Staruk.

Members inducted since 2008:

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Mark A. Atwood Andrew Balchunas Michael Barry Matthew Brady Tyler Gilzinger Anna Ruth Baturin
Andrew D. Bawn JiaYing Chen Evana Gizzi Andrea Cardarelli Alan I. Kane Kathleen Chubb
Brian C. Dukes Bryan Crompton Tracey Moulaison Brendan DeCourcy Franck Kamayou James W. DeFilippo
Dennis R. Holbrook Thomas Harrington Amber Paterson Caroline Gagnon James Kemper Olivia Demers
Erin R. Morrissey Michelle Labonte Tina Kinch Steven Andrew Lacourciere
Michelle Marie Polys Joanna Sutton Brianne Lemoine Christopher Yee
Mark N. Saba Owen Welsh Tyler K. Ouellet
Jacob Williams Dean M. Serrentino, Jr.
Peter Steere
April Stewart

For information, contact chapter advisor Steve Pennell:

Last Updated: June 14, 2013